Residential Assistants for 2021

Anrike Bornman

Hey team, I’m studying a Bachelor of Science and a major in Psychology at UC. I have loved being here in Christchurch. I was born in South Africa and raised in Auckland and moving down to Christchurch was great, especially with no traffic. My passions are hockey, skiing, shopping, walking, painting, watching food videos and going to cafés. Please don’t be afraid and start up a conversation. I would love to get to know you and help you to settle into here at Bish and make it your home.

Samuel Miller

Hi, I am a second year student studying a bachelor of Science majoring in Geology. With a degree in hand I plan to move into a masters course in either Engineering Geology or Disaster, Risk and Resilience. When I am not studying I am either rock climbing, paddle boarding, Social Dancing or a good old fashion hike in the middle of nowhere. I am looking forward to continuing my time at Bishop and meeting all of you joining us this year.

Lachlan Jones

Hello! My name is Lachlan, and I’m a second-year computer science and mathematics major. I’m a Dunedin local, so I love Christchurch for its warmer weather. Some of my favourite things to do are listening to music and exploring the city on my skateboard. During my first year here, I really enjoyed Bish’s fun and inclusive culture and I’d love to contribute to that while I’m a RA. I can’t wait to meet all of you in the coming year!

Greg Kiddney

Kia Ora! I’m Greg Kiddney and I’m currently studying (second year) BSc in Geography and Environmental Science. I’m a Sarawakian that moved from the Land of the Hornbills to Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk, Russia when I was 10. Then, I moved here by myself and stayed with a Kiwi Host family since I was 13 in Christchurch. Within that period, I went on a student exchange for two months in Hamburg, Germany when I was 16 before finishing the rest of NCEA.

From this, I believe learning about the world around me is a vital part not only for my studies, but my understanding on how different places work! Besides a keen and multilingual traveller, I love working with maps (Geographic Information Science), cycling, tramping within the South Island, an intermediate skier and reading (favorite genre: Science Fiction and Self-Improvement).

I understand moving away from home (even in the same country) can be quite daunting, but I promise you that being in Bishop Julius gives way for people to ease and grow into University Life. I’m looking forward to seeing 2021 Bish Students growing up into spectacular people!

Teaghan Mower

I am a fourth-year student (I know, I’m old) studying industrial product design and commerce majoring in marketing (shout out to my prod and commerce majors!). I hail from the mighty town of Leeston, 45ish minutes south of UC. When I’m not at Bish, you’ll find me surfing, hiking or glugging my 4th coffee of the morning. After the whirlwind that was 2020, I am excited to see what 2021 has in store for us and I feel incredibly privileged to be a part of the team making your time at UC a blast. If  you see me around please do come say gidday! 2021 is going to be a goodie, can’t wait to see you soon!

James Hamilton

Kia ora! I am amped to be an RA for 2021. My hall day’s were one of the most memorable moments of my university experience as I made amazing friends and memories. I moved to Christchurch from the Coromandel for university. I am five years into my Law and Arts (Political Science) double degree. Highlight’s of university so far; has been going on exchange to France, being a part of the Law Students Society’s Law Revue and pitching my business idea at the Summer Startup. I work hard and take every opportunity I can to explore and get outside. I love skiing, tramping, golfing, diving and I’m currently learning to surf. I’m looking forward to getting to know all of the residents and helping them embrace the opportunities at university.